July 18, 2017

Well over 50 sheriffs endorse Casey Cagle for Governor


Casey Cagle, the leading conservative Republican for governor, announced today that 58 sheriffs across Georgia have endorsed him. The announcement of this statewide network of respected and trusted leaders follows Cagle’s unmatched fundraising haul of $2.7 million in just two months, and the endorsements of 64 elected officials in Northwest Georgia alone.

“You simply don’t receive such widespread support without being a proven leader,” said Columbia County Sheriff Clay Whittle. “Casey’s unwavering commitment to the law enforcement community is most impressive. In fact, his first stop as a candidate for governor was a visit with our law enforcement officers.”

“Casey is our go-to guy,” said Gwinnett County Sheriff Butch Conway. “He is a proven leader that always delivers for the law enforcement community. He has also led to protect Georgians by eliminating sanctuary cities in our state, and I fully support Casey Cagle’s candidacy for governor.”

“The sheriffs are among the most respected and trusted leaders in communities all across our state,” said Cagle. “I am humbled to have the support of these selfless public servants. We are all indebted to the brave men and women that wear the badge and put their lives on the line for us. When I am governor, I will continue to fight tirelessly to support our law enforcement heroes.”

Cagle has pledged to cut taxes by $100 million in his first 100 days, deliver a comprehensive 10-year infrastructure plan, and create 500,000 new jobs in the first four years of his administration. He has also made workforce development a top priority, and will continue to lead on developing a world-class education system in Georgia.

The 58 sheriffs already endorsing Cagle’s bid for governor are:

Keith McBrayer, Henry Gary Sisk, Catoosa Harry Young, Grady
Frank Reynolds, Cherokee Scott Berry, Oconee John Wilcher, Chatham
Tim Burkhalter, Floyd John Cary Bittick, Monroe Bill Hutson, Cobb (fmr.)
Ashley Paulk, Lowndes Chris Clinton, Towns Randy Dely, Webster
Danny Brannen, Pulaski R.L. “Butch” Conway, Gwinnett Mack Mason, Union
James Woodruff, Troup Gerald Couch, Hall Jeff Watson, Taylor
Logan Marshall, McDuffie Terry Deese, Peach Dane Kirby, Fannin
Mitch Ralston, Gordon Roger Garrison, Cherokee (fmr.) Stacy Jarrard, Lumpkin
Ramsey Bennett, Pierce Wiley Griffin, Decatur Shane Tondee, Schley
Rod Howell, Colquitt Bill Hancock, Crisp William Price, Early
Chris Steverson, Telfair Mike Jolley, Harris Steve Cronic, Hall (fmr.)
Noel Brown, Bulloch Howard Sills, Putnam Donald Craig, Pickens
Randy Shirley, Stephens Pete Smith, Sumter Stephen Jessup, McIntosh
Robert Rodgers, Wilcox Tyson Stephens, Emanuel Darren Mitchum, Twiggs
Butch Reece, Jones Neal Walden, White Frank Andrews, Rabun (fmr.)
Cullen Talton, Houston Neil Warren, Cobb John Bowens, Terrell
Brad White, Lamar Clay Whittle, Columbia Gary Gulledge, Paulding
Stacy Nicholson, Gilmer Steve Wilson, Walker Clark Millsap, Bartow
Ray Cross, Dade Mike Yeager, Coweta Johnny Moats, Polk
Gene Scarbrough, Tift