August 1, 2017

Cagle announces wave of support in Southeast Georgia

50 elected officials endorse Cagle’s bold, conservative leadership


Conservative Republican Casey Cagle announced today that 50 elected officials from Southeast Georgia have endorsed his bid for governor. These endorsements follow Cagle’s unmatched fundraising haul of $2.7 million in just the first two months of his campaign, endorsements of 64 elected officials in Northwest Georgia, and endorsements of more than 60 Georgia sheriffs.

“Supporting Casey for governor is an easy choice,” said Sen. Ben Watson (R-Savannah). “Casey is a conservative Republican who gets things done. I know we can count on Casey to support Southeast Georgia. We have seen it firsthand; we know he is a strong leader on the issues important to us.”

In addition to Watson, Cagle gained the endorsements of Sens. Jack Hill of Reidsville, Ellis Black of Valdosta, Jesse Stone of Waynesboro, and former Sens. Greg Goggans of Douglas and Tim Golden of Valdosta. Cagle is also earning the support of former Congressman Lindsay Thomas and state Rep. Ron Stephens of Savannah.

Cagle is supported by a large number of sheriffs throughout the region: Mike Dewey (Brooks), Noel Brown (Bulloch), John Wilcher (Chatham), Douglas Hanks (Cook), Randy Courson (Echols), Jimmy McDuffie (Effingham), Tyson Stephens (Emanuel), Larry Dean (Laurens), Ashley Paulk (Lowndes), Stephen Jessup (McIntosh), Ramsey Bennett (Pierce), Mike Kile (Screven) and Chris Steverson (Telfair).

“Casey knows law enforcement,” Sheriff Wilcher said. “Casey led the passage of the Back the Badge laws this year, and he is the candidate fighting for better pay for our local law enforcement. He has started a task force to address this critical issue, and any advocate of law enforcement should be supporting Casey.”

Southeast Georgia county commissioners who are endorsing Cagle include Bradley Brookshire (Bryan), Noah Covington (Bryan), Rick Gardner (Bryan), Wade Price (Bryan), Keith Thompson (Emanuel), Chairwoman Jill Griffin (Evans), Chairman Jackie Trim (Tattnall), Steve Barnard (Ware), and former Commissioner Tony Thaw (Glynn).

“As the chairwoman of Evans County, I have dedicated myself to bettering our community,” Griffin said. “Casey knows Southeast Georgia, and Casey has proven himself to be a leader that works to benefit everyday Georgians.”

Cagle has earned the support of Southeast Georgia Mayors Bubba Hodge (Darien), Phil Best (Dublin), Mike Lamb (Pooler), Harold Fowler (Richmond Hill), and Jason Buelterman (Tybee Island). City council members who are endorsing Cagle include Johnny Murphy (Richmond Hill), Russ Carpenter (Richmond Hill), John Fesperman (Richmond Hill), Jan Bass (Richmond Hill), Julian Sconyers (Swainsboro), Johnny Ray Stafford (Swainsboro) and Wanda Doyle (Tybee Island).

Tax Commissioners Carol Coleman (Bryan) and Danny Powers (Chatham), Coroner Bill Cox (Bryan), Solicitors General Donald Montgomery (Bryan) and Joseph Cushner (Bulloch) and Bryan County Board of Education Chairman Eddie Warren, Vice Chairman Karen Krupp and member Amy Murphy are also throwing their support behind Cagle.

“The support of these officials who have served their region honorably is humbling,” said Cagle. “I am excited to continue working with this esteemed group as governor of Georgia. Together, we will transform Georgia from a state with great promise to a national leader through education and workforce development, greater investment in the Port of Savannah, rural broadband expansion and tax cuts for every working Georgian.”

Cagle has pledged to cut taxes by $100 million in his first 100 days, deliver a comprehensive 10-year infrastructure plan, and create 500,000 new jobs in the first four years of his administration. He has also made workforce development a top priority, and will continue to lead on developing a world-class education system in Georgia.